Category Archives: Criminal Defense
What are Considered Essential Businesses Under States’ COVID-19 Rules?
During the coronavirus pandemic, previously bustling locations from malls to urban downtowns have gone eerily quiet. But your local pizza place might still be open, along with restaurants that can survive on takeout and delivery orders and, of course, grocery stores. After all, keeping people fed during an epidemic is critical, and food delivery and… Read More »
How Can Someone Be Punished if They Violate a COVID-19 Stay at Home Order?
Across the country, stay-at-home orders have strained law enforcement and tested how far states and municipalities are willing to go to enforce the orders. These directives have triggered controversy and confusion, as standards sometimes differ from town to town or county to county. In certain instances, people who have violated government edicts designed to reduce… Read More »
What Happens if You Host a Gathering While in Quarantine?
Along with the serious health risks associated with coronavirus, Americans are burdened by quarantine orders and similar directives that forbid them from seeing their loved ones, even for major events such as holidays and birthdays. It can be tempting to try to break the rules, especially for people who believe that they don’t fall into… Read More »
Some Sex-Related Crimes Don’t Necessarily Come with Jail Time in Texas
Sex crimes are serious criminal offenses that can carry significant consequences, both for the person charged with the crime and his or her family. It’s important to understand, however, that not all unwanted sexual activity rises to the level of sexual assault or another sex crime under Texas law. The difference is important, because it… Read More »
Can You Go to Jail for a Misdemeanor?
A misdemeanor is defined as a crime punishable by up to a year in jail. But in Texas, whether or not you are likely to be incarcerated for a misdemeanor conviction depends on a number of aspects. Punishment is determined in part by the crime’s seriousness. Texas divides misdemeanors into three classes: Class A misdemeanors,… Read More »
Can You Go to Jail for Driving with a Suspended License?
Jail is a potential consequence for driving with a suspended license. Under the Texas Transportation Code, in order to operate a motor vehicle, a person must possess a valid driver’s license. Licenses can be suspended or revoked for several reasons and for different lengths of time. Despite the inconvenience and hardship a suspension or revocation… Read More »
Can You Go to Jail for Driving Without a License?
Driving without a license could mean having no valid license or just not having it in your possession. The difference between the two could be jail or no jail. Texas law requires that you be licensed to drive and also be able to display your license at the request of a law enforcement officer. If… Read More »
Can You Go to Jail for Driving Without Insurance?
Texas, like most states, mandates that all motor vehicle operators be covered by third-party liability insurance. The minimum coverage levels are $25,000 for property damage and $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident for personal injury. Failure to carry adequate insurance is punishable by steep monetary penalties but not by jail — unless there are… Read More »
Corpus Delicti – No Body, No Crime?
Watching crime movies or t.v. shows might give you the impression that without a body there can be no conviction for murder. Whitey Bulger, the biggest thug in Boston for years liked to say, “No body, no crime.” This is not always true. Popular fiction implies that the Latin term corpus delicti means that the… Read More »
Automobile as Deadly Weapon in DWI Case
Prosecutors like to threaten defendants charged with DWI with the hammer of an enhancement for use of a deadly weapon. This is easy to do in a case involving death or serious injury, since by definition, the car was capable of causing serious bodily injury or death. Prosecutors will also seek a deadly weapon finding… Read More »