3g Offenses in Texas
Sometimes you’ll hear defendants and their lawyers and prosecutors talk about “3g offenses.” They’re referring to Sec. 3g of Article 42.12 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, captioned Limitation on Judge Ordered Community Supervision.
What are 3G Offenses in Texas?
Certain offenses in Texas are considered more serious or violent and therefore subject to stricter sentencing and limited parole.
A judge cannot order probation to a defendant adjudged guilty of numerous serious offenses, including:
Indecency with a child
Several drug offenses
Any crime where a deadly weapon was used or exhibited
An inmate convicted of a 3g offense, without consideration for good conduct time, must serve at least one-half of his sentence, or 30 years, whichever is less. That’s in the Government Code, Sec. 508.145.
Example of 3G offense in Texas
A defendant is convicted of aggravated assault with a deadly weapon, and is sentenced to 60 years in prison. According to the special category of felony offenses in Texas, he will have to serve at least 50% of that term (60 x 50% = 30). Therefore, he will have to serve 30 years in prison before he can be considered for parole.
What you can do if charged with a 3G offense in Texas
It is extremely important to understand all of the facts and options if you have been charged with a 3G offense in Texas. Richard L. Ellison, P.C. is a Texas board certified criminal defense attorney who can review your case and provide proper guidance for the best legal defense to the charges. Call now 830-955-8168.